

ASSOCIATION OF MANITOBA MUNICIPALITIES

The following are the minutes of the **2023 Central District Meeting**, which took place on Thursday, June 15, 2023, at Stride Place, Portage la Prairie, MB. The 2023 Central District Meeting was hosted by the City of Portage la Prairie and the RM of Portage la Prairie.

9:30 am	Meeting called to order & Director Remarks	Nancy Penner, Councillor, City of Morden Marvin Plett, Councillor, City of Winkler
	O Canada	Jennifer Campbell-Dornan
	Opening Remarks	AMM President Kam Blight AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino
	Welcome Remarks	Sharilyn Knox, Mayor, City of Portage la Prairie and Kam Blight, Reeve, RM of Portage la Prairie

AMM Official Business Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director

MINUTES OF 2022 CENTRAL DISTRICT MEETING

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the minutes of the 2022 Central District Meeting be adopted.

- Moved by Sharilyn Knox, Mayor, City of Portage la Prairie
- Seconded by Roger Lesage, Councillor, Municipality of Lorne

CARRIED

ELECTION OF RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

• Archie Heinrichs, Councillor, Municipality of Rhineland nominated Don Wiebe, Reeve, Municipality of Rhineland.

MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS FOR RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Moved by Hank Froese, Councillor, Municipality of Rhineland
- Seconded by Gilbert Vigier, Councillor, Municipality of Lorne

CARRIED

Don Wiebe, Reeve, Municipality of Rhineland was acclaimed to serve as Central Resolutions Committee Chair for the day and Resolutions Committee Representative at the Annual Convention.

MUNICIPAL DISCUSSION

• Discussion with Hon. Andrew Smith, Minister of Municipal Relations, and AMM President Kam Blight about municipal affairs moderated by AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk.

WESTERN FINANCIAL GROUP – AMM GENERAL INSURANCE PROGRAM

• Grant Ostir, Chief Growth Officer - Western Financial Group, discussed the AMM General Insurance Program's benefits to municipalities, relationship with Western Financial Group through the years, returns of premiums to municipalities and current state of the insurance marketplace in 2023.

ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSIONS WITH MEMBERS

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director led the discussion identifying the priorities from municipal councils in the Central District.

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT

• Brad Saluk, AMM Vice-President led and instant feedback session (MENTI) with the Central District members.

OTHER BUSINESS

- Introduction of Guests
- 2023 Service Awards Presentation
- Call for Host of 2024 Central District Meeting

Future June District Meeting Host:

2024 - Town of Altona and Municipality of Rhineland

AMM PROVINCIAL ELECTION ADVOCACY CAMPAIGN

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director provided an overview of AMM's advocacy campaign, "Let's Grow Manitoba Together".

RESOLUTIONS DEBATE AND VOTING

Resolutions moved by Reeve Don Wiebe, Resolutions Committee Chair.

NO.	SECONDER	CATEGORY	STATUS
2001-01	Reeve Scott Siemens, RM of Morris	1	CARRIED
2001-02	Reeve Scott Siemens, RM of Morris	1	CARRIED
2001-03	Mayor Harv Schroeder, Town of Altona	1	CARRIED
2001-04	Councillor Larry Skoglund, RM of Morris	1	CARRIED
2001-05	CAO Nettie Neudorf, RM of Portage la Prairie	1	CARRIED
2001-06	CAO Nettie Neudorf, RM of Portage la Prairie	1	CARRIED
2001-07	Mayor Henry Siemens, City of Winkler	1	CARRIED
2001-08	Mayor Henry Siemens, City of Winkler	1	CARRIED
2001-09	Mayor Brandon Burley, City of Morden	1	CARRIED

ELECTION OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS

1st Ballot

Total Ballots: 61 Total Votes Cast: 111 Total Spoiled Ballots: 0

- Councillor Nancy Penner, City of Morden: 41
- Councillor Marvin Plett, City of Winkler: 35

• Reeve Christa Vann Mitchell, RM of Cartier: 35

<u>2nd Ballot</u> Total Ballots: 60 Total Votes Cast: 60 Total Spoiled Ballots: 0

- Councillor Marvin Plett, City of Winkler: 27
- Reeve Christa Vann Mitchell, RM of Cartier: 33

Councillor Nancy Penner, City of Morden and Reeve Christa Vann Mitchell, RM of Cartier were elected to serve as Central District Directors

MOTION TO DESTROY BALLOTS

- Moved by Brandon Burley, Mayor, City of Morden
- Seconded by Aurel Pantel, Reeve, Municipality of Lorne

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

• The meeting adjourned at 2:00 pm.