

ASSOCIATION OF MANITOBA MUNICIPALITIES

The following are the minutes of the **2023 Eastern District Meeting**, which took place on Friday, June 16, 2023, at Richer Young at Heart Club, Richer, MB. The 2023 Eastern District Meeting was hosted by the RM of Ste. Anne.

9:30 am Meeting called Loren Schinkel, Reeve, RM of Lac du Bonnet

to order & Director

Remarks

Ray Schirle, Mayor, Town of Beausejour

O Canada Students from Richer School

Opening Remarks AMM President Kam Blight

AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk
AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino

Welcome Remarks Richard Pelletier, Reeve, RM of Ste. Anne

AMM Official Business Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director

MINUTES OF 2022 EASTERN DISTRICT MEETING

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the minutes of the 2022 Eastern District Meeting be adopted.

- Moved by Charles Posthumus, Councillor, RM of East St. Paul
- Seconded by Mark Bernard, Councillor, RM of Piney

CARRIED

ELECTION OF RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

• Greg Mandzuk, Councillor, RM of Lac du Bonnet nominated Cindy Kellendonk, Councillor, RM of Lac du Bonnet.

MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS FOR RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Moved by Keegan Sveinson, Councillor, Town of Lac du Bonnet
- Seconded by Ken Lodge, Mayor, Town of Lac du Bonnet

CARRIED

Cindy Kellendonk, Councillor, RM of Lac du Bonnet was acclaimed to serve as Eastern Resolutions Committee Chair for the day and Resolutions Committee Representative at the Annual Convention.

MUNICIPAL DISCUSSION

• Discussion with Hon. Andrew Smith, Minister of Municipal Relations, and AMM President Kam Blight about municipal affairs moderated by AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino.

WESTERN FINANCIAL GROUP - AMM GENERAL INSURANCE PROGRAM

• Grant Ostir, Chief Growth Officer - Western Financial Group, discussed the AMM General Insurance Program's benefits to municipalities, relationship with Western Financial Group through the

years, returns of premiums to municipalities and current state of the insurance marketplace in 2023.

ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSIONS WITH MEMBERS

Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director led the discussion identifying the priorities from municipal councils in the Eastern District.

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT

• Kathy Valentino, AMM Vice-President led an instant feedback session (MENTI) with the Eastern District members.

OTHER BUSINESS

- Introduction of Guests
- 2023 Service Awards Presentation
- Call for Host of 2024 Eastern District Meeting

Future June District Meeting Host:

2024 - RM of Lac du Bonnet & Town of Lac du Bonnet

2025 - RM of St. Clements

2026 - Village of St. Pierre-Jolys

2027 - RM of Hanover

AMM PROVINCIAL ELECTION ADVOCACY CAMPAIGN

Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director provided an overview of AMM's advocacy campaign, "Let's Grow Manitoba Together".

RESOLUTIONS DEBATE AND VOTING

Resolutions moved by Councillor Cindy Kellendonk, Resolutions Committee Chair.

NO.	SECONDER	CATEGORY	STATUS
3001-01	Reeve Michelle Gawronsky, RM of Stuartburn	1	CARRIED
3001-02	Councillor David Horbas, RM of St. Clements	1	CARRIED
3001-03	Councillor Scott Spicer, RM of St. Clements	1	CARRIED
3001-04	Councillor Jean Barnabe, RM of Montcalm	1	CARRIED
3001-05	Reeve Debbie Fiebelkorn, RM of St. Clements	1	CARRIED
3001-06	Reeve Loren Schinkel, RM of Lac du Bonnet	1	CARRIED
3001-07	Reeve Loren Schinkel, RM of Lac du Bonnet	1	CARRIED
3001-08	Councillor Natashia Lapiere, RM of Taché	1	CARRIED
3001-09	Reeve Michelle Gawronsky, RM of Stuartburn	1	CARRIED
3001-10	Reeve Michelle Gawronsky, RM of Stuartburn	1	CARRIED
3001-11	Mayor Earl Funk, City of Steinbach	1	DEFEATED
3001-12	Mayor Ray Schirle, Town of Beausejour	1	CARRIED
3001-13	Mayor Ray Schirle, Town of Beausejour	1	CARRIED
3001-14	Councillor Cindy Kellendonk, RM of Lac du Bonnet	1	CARRIED
3001-15		3	
3001-16	Councillor Cindy Kellendonk, RM of Lac du Bonnet	1	DEFEATED

3001-17	Councillor Cindy Kellendonk, RM of Lac du Bonnet	1	DEFEATED
3001-18	Councillor Cindy Kellendonk, RM of Lac du Bonnet	1	CARRIED
3001-19	Mayor Earl Funk, City of Steinbach	1	CARRIED

ELECTION OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS

1st Ballot

Total Ballots: 100 Total Votes Cast: 182 Total Spoiled Ballots: 0

Councillor Jason Einarson, Town of Ste. Anne: 13
Councillor Paul Gauthier, RM of La Broquerie: 35
Reeve Michelle Gawronsky, RM of Stuartburn: 25
Reeve Loren Schinkel, RM of Lac du Bonnet: 72
Mayor Ray Schirle, Town of Beausejour: 37

Reeve Loren Schinkel, RM of Lac du Bonnet and Mayor Ray Schirle, Town of Beausejour were elected to serve as Eastern District Directors.

MOTION TO DESTROY BALLOTS

- Moved by Glen Basarowich, Councillor, RM of St. Clements
- Seconded by Brian Grier, Councillor, Municipality of Emerson-Franklin

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

• The meeting adjourned at 3:00 pm.