

### **ASSOCIATION OF MANITOBA MUNICIPALITIES**

The following are the minutes of the **2023 Interlake District Meeting**, which took place on Monday, June 19, 2023, at Quarry Park Heritage Arts Centre, Stonewall, MB. The 2023 Interlake District Meeting was hosted by the Town of Stonewall.

**9:30 am Meeting called** Kelly Cook, Councillor, City of Selkirk

to order & Director

Remarks

Sandra Smith, Mayor, Town of Stonewall

O Canada Collège Stonewall Collegiate Singers

led by Ms. Kendra Obach, Choral Director

**Opening Remarks** AMM President Kam Blight

AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk
AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino

Welcome Remarks Sandra Smith, Mayor, Town of Stonewall

AMM Official Business Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director

### **MINUTES OF 2022 INTERLAKE DISTRICT MEETING**

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the minutes of the 2022 Interlake District Meeting be adopted.

- Moved by Wes Taplin, Reeve, RM of Rockwood
- Seconded by Laurie Hunt, Councillor, RM of St. Andrews

**CARRIED** 

## **ELECTION OF RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR**

• Kimberly Newman, Councillor, Town of Stonewall nominated Angela Emms, Councillor, RM of Rosser.

## MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS FOR RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Moved by Carl Fleury, Councillor, RM of Woodlands
- Seconded by Joy Sul, Mayor, RM of St. Andrews

**CARRIED** 

Angela Emms, Councillor, RM of Rosser was acclaimed to serve as Interlake Resolutions Committee Chair for the day and Resolutions Committee Representative at the Annual Convention.

#### **MUNICIPAL DISCUSSION**

• Discussion with Hon. Andrew Smith, Minister of Municipal Relations, and AMM President Kam Blight about municipal affairs moderated by AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk.

#### WESTERN FINANCIAL GROUP - AMM GENERAL INSURANCE PROGRAM

• Grant Ostir, Chief Growth Officer - Western Financial Group, discussed the AMM General

Insurance Program's benefits to municipalities, relationship with Western Financial Group through the years, returns of premiums to municipalities and current state of the insurance marketplace in 2023.

### **ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSIONS WITH MEMBERS**

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director led the discussion identifying the priorities from municipal councils in the Interlake District.

### **MEMBER ENGAGEMENT**

• Brad Saluk, AMM Vice-President led an instant feedback session (MENTI) with the Interlake District members.

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

- Introduction of Guests
- 2023 Service Awards Presentation
- Call for Host of 2024 Interlake District Meeting

## **Future June District Meeting Host:**

2024 - RM of Armstrong

## AMM PROVINCIAL ELECTION ADVOCACY CAMPAIGN

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director provided an overview of AMM's advocacy campaign, "Let's Grow Manitoba Together".

## RESOLUTIONS DEBATE AND VOTING

Resolutions moved by Councillor Angela Emms, Resolutions Committee Chair.

NO.	SECONDER	CATEGORY	STATUS
4001-01	Mayor Pam Jackson, Town of Winnipeg Beach	1	CARRIED
4001-02	Reeve Wes Taplin, RM of Rockwood	1	CARRIED
4001-03	CAO Duane Nicol, City of Selkirk	1	CARRIED
4001-04	CAO Wally Melnyk, Town of Stonewall	1	CARRIED
4001-05	CAO Duane Nicol, City of Selkirk	1	CARRIED
4001-06	Reeve Shannon Pyziak, RM of Fisher	1	CARRIED
4001-07	CAO Duane Nicol, City of Selkirk	1	CARRIED
4001-08		3	
4001-09	Reeve Kate Basford, RM of Armstrong	1	CARRIED
4001-10	Reeve Kate Basford, RM of Armstrong	1	CARRIED
4001-11	Reeve Kate Basford, RM of Armstrong	1	CARRIED
4001-12	Councillor Justin Fiebelkorn, RM of St. Andrews	1	CARRIED
4001-13	Mayor Joy Sul, RM of St. Andrews	1	CARRIED

## **ELECTION OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS**

# 1st Ballot

Total Ballots: 65 Total Votes Cast: 116

## Total Spoiled Ballots: 0

• Councillor Kelly Cook, City of Selkirk: 33

• Councillor Laurie Hunt, RM of St. Andrews: 17

• Mayor Sandra Smith, Town of Stonewall: 42

• Reeve Wes Taplin, RM of Rockwood: 24

Councillor Kelly Cook, City of Selkirk, and Mayor Sandra Smith, Town of Stonewall were elected to serve as Interlake District Directors.

# **MOTION TO DESTROY BALLOTS**

- Moved by Jeff Browaty, Councillor, City of Winnipeg
- Seconded by Duane Nicol, CAO, City of Selkirk

**CARRIED** 

## **ADJOURNMENT**

• The meeting adjourned at 2:15 pm.