

ASSOCIATION OF MANITOBA MUNICIPALITIES

The following are the minutes of the **2023 Midwestern District Meeting**, which took place on Wednesday, June 14, 2023, at Stride Hall, Gladstone, MB. The 2023 Midwestern District Meeting was hosted by the Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone.

9:30 am Meeting called Merv Starzyk, Mayor, RM of Yellowhead

to order & Director

Remarks

Ian Drul, Reeve, Municipality of Harrison Park

O Canada Rylee Wiebe

Opening Remarks AMM President Kam Blight

AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk
AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino

Welcome Remarks Daryl Shipman, Mayor, Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone

AMM Official Business Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director

MINUTES OF 2022 MIDWESTERN DISTRICT MEETING

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the minutes of the 2022 Midwestern District Meeting be adopted.

- Moved by Merv Starzyk, Mayor, RM of Yellowhead
- Seconded by Bill Aaroe, Councillor, RM of Oakview

CARRIED

ELECTION OF RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

• Delbert Pederson, Councillor, RM of Yellowhead nominated Lisa Hogg, Councillor, RM of Yellowhead.

MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS FOR RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Moved by Tom Dowsett, Councillor, Town of Minnedosa
- Seconded by Jeff Fehr, Councillor, Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone

CARRIED

Lisa Hogg, Councillor, RM of Yellowhead was acclaimed to serve as Midwestern Resolutions Committee Chair for the day and Resolutions Committee Representative at the Annual Convention

MUNICIPAL DISCUSSION

• Discussion with Hon. Andrew Smith, Minister of Municipal Relations, and AMM President Kam Blight about municipal affairs moderated by AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino.

WESTERN FINANCIAL GROUP - AMM GENERAL INSURANCE PROGRAM

• Grant Ostir, Chief Growth Officer - Western Financial Group, discussed the AMM General Insurance Program's benefits to municipalities, relationship with Western Financial Group through the years, returns of premiums to municipalities and current state of the insurance marketplace in 2023.

ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSIONS WITH MEMBERS

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director led the discussion identifying the priorities from municipal councils in the Midwestern District.

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT

• Kathy Valentino, AMM Vice-President led an instant feedback session (MENTI) with the Midwestern District members.

OTHER BUSINESS

- Introduction of Guests
- 2023 Service Awards Presentation
- Call for Host of 2024 Midwestern District Meeting

Future June District Meeting Host:

2024 - Prairie View Municipality

2025 - Municipality of Clanwilliam-Erickson

AMM PROVINCIAL ELECTION ADVOCACY CAMPAIGN

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director provided an overview of AMM's advocacy campaign, "Let's Grow Manitoba Together."

RESOLUTIONS DEBATE AND VOTING

Resolutions moved by Councillor Lisa Hogg, Resolutions Committee Chair.

No.	SECONDER	CATEGORY	STATUS
1001-01	Mayor Merv Starzyk, RM of Yellowhead	1	CARRIED
1001-02	Mayor Merv Starzyk, RM of Yellowhead	1	CARRIED
1001-03	Reeve Grant Boryskavich, RM of Riding Mountain West	1	CARRIED
1001-04	Reeve Grant Boryskavich, RM of Riding Mountain West	1	CARRIED
1001-05	Reeve Grant Boryskavich, RM of Riding Mountain West	1	CARRIED
1001-06	Reeve Grant Boryskavich, RM of Riding Mountain West	1	CARRIED
1001-07	Reeve Grant Boryskavich, RM of Riding Mountain West	1	CARRIED
1001-08	Reeve Grant Boryskavich, RM of Riding Mountain West	1	CARRIED
1001-09	Mayor Judy Snitynsky, Municipality of Russell-Binscarth	1	CARRIED
1001-10	Reeve Ian Drul, Municipality of Harrison Park	1	CARRIED
1001-11	Reeve Ian Drul, Municipality of Harrison Park	1	CARRIED
1001-12	Reeve Ian Drul, Municipality of Harrison Park	1	CARRIED
1001-13	Councillor Frank Taylor, Town of Minnedosa	1	CARRIED

ELECTION OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS

Mayor Merv Starzyk, RM of Yellowhead, and Reeve Ian Drul, Municipality of Harrison Park were acclaimed to serve as Midwestern District Directors.

ADJOURNMENT

• The meeting adjourned at 1:45 pm.