

ASSOCIATION OF MANITOBA MUNICIPALITIES

The following are the minutes of the **2023 Northern District Meeting**, which took place on Monday, June 26, 2023, at Wescana Inn, The Pas, MB. The 2023 Northern District Meeting was hosted by the Town of The Pas.

10:45 am	Meeting called to order & Director Remarks	Louis Fitzpatrick, Councillor, City of Thompson Andre Murphy, Mayor, Town of The Pas	
	O Canada	Recording	
	Opening Remarks	AMM President Kam Blight AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino	
	Welcome Remarks	Andre Murphy, Mayor, Town of The Pas	
	AMM Official Business	Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director	

MINUTES OF 2022 NORTHERN DISTRICT MEETING

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the minutes of the 2022 Northern District Meeting be adopted.

- Andre Murphy, Mayor, Town of The Pas
- Colleen Smook, Mayor, City of Thompson

CARRIED

CARRIED

ELECTION OF RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

• Colleen Smook, Mayor, City of Thompson nominated Louis Fitzpatrick, Councillor, City of Thompson.

MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS FOR RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Moved by Andre Murphy, Mayor, Town of The Pas
- Seconded by Vicky Phillips, Councillor, Town of Lynn Lake

Louis Fitzpatrick, Councillor, City of Thompson was acclaimed to serve as Northern Resolutions Committee Chair for the day and Resolutions Committee Representative at the Annual Convention.

MUNICIPAL DISCUSSION

• Discussion with Hon. Andrew Smith, Minister of Municipal Relations, and AMM President Kam Blight about municipal affairs moderated by AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino.

WESTERN FINANCIAL GROUP - AMM GENERAL INSURANCE PROGRAM

• Jordan Lontajo, Program Manager, Employee Benefits - Western Financial Group, discussed the AMM General Insurance Program's benefits to municipalities, relationship with Western Financial Group

through the years, returns of premiums to municipalities and current state of the insurance marketplace in 2023.

OTHER BUSINESS

- Introduction of Guests
- 2023 Service Awards Presentation
- Call for Host of 2024 Northern District Meeting

Future June District Meeting Host:

2024 – City of Flin Flon

2025 - City of Thompson

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT

• Kathy Valentino, AMM Vice-President led an instant feedback session (MENTI) with the Northern District members.

ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSIONS WITH MEMBERS

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director led the discussion identifying the priorities from municipal councils in the Northern District.

AMM PROVINCIAL ELECTION ADVOCACY CAMPAIGN

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director provided an overview of AMM's advocacy campaign, "Let's Grow Manitoba Together".

RESOLUTIONS DEBATE AND VOTING

Resolutions moved by Councillor Louis Fitzpatrick, Resolutions Committee Chair.

NO.	SECONDER	CATEGORY	STATUS
7001-01	Councillor Bill Ward, Town of The Pa	1	CARRIED
7001-02	Mayor Colleen Smook, City of Thompson	1	CARRIED

ELECTION OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS

Mayor Andre Murphy, Town of The Pas, and Councillor Louis Fitzpatrick, City of Thompson were acclaimed to serve as Northern District Directors.

ADJOURNMENT

• The meeting adjourned at 2:15 pm.