

ASSOCIATION OF MANITOBA MUNICIPALITIES

The following are the minutes of the **2023 Western District Meeting**, which took place on Friday, June 23, 2023, at Oak Lake Community Hall, Oak Lake, MB. The 2023 Western District Meeting was hosted by the RM of Sifton.

9:30 am	Meeting called to order & Director Remarks	Rhonda Coupland, Councillor, Municipality of Boissevain-Morton Scott Phillips, Councillor, RM of Sifton	
	O Canada	Russell Thiessen, Councillor, RM of Sifton	
	Opening Remarks	AMM President Kam Blight AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk AMM Vice-President Kathy Valentino	
	Welcome Remarks	Cyril Druwe, Reeve, RM of Sifton	
	AMM Official Business	Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director	

MINUTES OF 2022 WESTERN DISTRICT MEETING

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the minutes of the 2022 Western District Meeting be adopted.

- Moved by Russell Thiessen, Councillor, RM of Sifton
- Seconded by Jessie Cruickshank, Councillor, Town of Virden

CARRIED

CARRIED

ELECTION OF RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

• Duane Davison, Mayor, Municipality of Souris-Glenwood nominated Dave Kreklewich, Head of Council, Municipality of Oakland-Wawanesa.

• Rhonda Coupland, Councillor, Municipality of Boissevain-Morton, nominated Trevor Tuttosi, Reeve, RM of Whitehead.

MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS FOR RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Moved by Scott Phillips, Councillor, RM of Sifton
- Seconded by Archie McPherson, Reeve, RM of Pipestone

BALLOT

Total Ballots: 74

Total Spoiled Ballots: 2

- Head of Council Dave Kreklewich, Municipality of Oakland-Wawanesa: 31
- Reeve Trevor Tuttosi, RM of Whitehead: 41

Trevor Tuttosi, Reeve, RM of Whitehead was elected to serve as Western Resolutions Committee Chair for the day and Resolutions Committee Representative at the Annual Convention.

MOTION TO DESTROY BALLOTS

- Moved by Clayton Canart, Reeve, RM of Wallace-Woodworth
- Seconded by Marc Savy, Councillor, Town of Virden

CARRIED

MUNICIPAL DISCUSSION

• Discussion with Hon. Andrew Smith, Minister of Municipal Relations, and AMM President Kam Blight about municipal affairs moderated by AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk.

WESTERN FINANCIAL GROUP - AMM GENERAL INSURANCE PROGRAM

• Grant Ostir, Chief Growth Officer - Western Financial Group, discussed the AMM General Insurance Program's benefits to municipalities, relationship with Western Financial Group through the years, returns of premiums to municipalities and current state of the insurance marketplace in 2023.

ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSIONS WITH MEMBERS

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director led the discussion identifying the priorities from municipal councils in the Western District.

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT

• Brad Saluk, AMM Vice-President led an instant feedback session (MENTI) with the Western District members.

OTHER BUSINESS

- Introduction of Guests
- 2023 Service Awards Presentation
- Call for Host of 2024 Western District Meeting

Future June District Meeting Host:

2024 – Town of Virden

2025 - Municipality of North Cypress-Langford

AMM PROVINCIAL ELECTION ADVOCACY CAMPAIGN

• Denys Volkov, AMM Executive Director provided an overview of AMM's advocacy campaign, "Let's Grow Manitoba Together".

RESOLUTIONS DEBATE AND VOTING

Resolutions moved by Reeve Trevor Tuttosi, Resolutions Committee Chair.

NO.	SECONDER	CATEGORY	STATUS
6001-01	Head of Council Judy Swanson, Municipality of Boissevain-Morto	on1	CARRIED
6001-02	Head of Council Judy Swanson, Municipality of Boissevain-Morton1		
6001-03	Reeve Ches Bollman, RM of Elton	1	CARRIED
6001-04	Councillor Rick Kenderdine, RM of Sifton	1	CARRIED
6001-05	Reeve Ches Bollman, RM of Elton	1	CARRIED
6001-06	Reeve Ches Bollman, RM of Elton	1	CARRIED
6001-07	Reeve Ray Drayson, Municipality of North Cypress-Langfor	d1	CARRIED

6001-08	Councillor Don Brown, Municipality of Souris-Glenwood	1	CARRIED
6001-09	Councillor Randy Henuset, RM of Pipestone	1	CARRIED
6001-10		3	
6001-11	Councillor Randy Henuset, RM of Pipestone	1	CARRIED
6001-12	Councillor Tara Cowan, Town of Virden	1	CARRIED
6001-13	Mayor Tina Williams, Town of Virden	1	CARRIED

ELECTION OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS

<u>1st Ballot</u>

Total Ballots: 77 Total Votes Cast: 132 Total Spoiled Ballots: 0

- Reeve Clayton Canart, RM of Wallace-Woodworth: 28
- Councillor Rhonda Coupland, Municipality of Boissevain-Morton: 42
- Councillor Scott Phillips, RM of Sifton: 62

Councillor Rhonda Coupland, Municipality of Boissevain-Morton, and Councillor Scott Phillips, RM of Sifton were elected to serve as Western District Directors.

MOTION TO DESTROY BALLOTS

- Moved by Trevor Tuttosi, Reeve, RM of Whitehead
- Seconded by Dennis Griffith, Councillor, RM of Sifton

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

• The meeting adjourned at 2:00 pm.